Happy belated birthday to me || 6 life lessons I learned in school

Hi people!

It’s another month! I was super excited last Friday because it was my birthday.

My birthday was fun as family, friends, and colleagues took out their time to make it a special day for me.

I am sorry I couldn’t complete the story for last month as expected, tried to make up for it last weekend but the network was pretty bad.

Yes, the last post was about the lessons I learned from my first relationship. So this is the last one I learned from school, I hope to share some random facts about me soon.

Like every other prospective student that wants to secure admission into one of the best universities in the country, I joined the league of students vying for admission to study my choice of study [Mass Communication]. I have always wanted to be in the media – talking, interviewing people, presenting, broadcasting and writing articles etc. So going in this profession is the first step. Growing up to watch Jire Kuforiji – a broadcaster on AIT [that was the only station we were allowed to watch then] and some other people, I wanted to be like them, I liked everything they did on TV.

However, like every other parent, my mom wanted [still] me to be a doctor. Like seriously?! I can’t just deal with that. I offered few courses in sciences in my first term in secondary school but then as fate would have it, I found myself in the Arts department. The school I attended made it compulsory for all students to take all courses both in science, arts and commercial to know their areas of strength.

Long story short, in 2013, I gained admission to study Mass Communication at The Polytechnic, Ibadan after I had written UTME twice. It wasn’t my choice but because all my friends and cousin had secured admission, I didn’t want to be left out so I decided to go to a Polytechnic. Before the admission, I had prayed and fasted countless times, praying to just secure admission, so at the time I felt God has finally answered prayer. Well, maybe He did for a reason!

After spending two years in school, here are the few lessons I learned before school and while in school.

Don’t be influenced

I finished secondary school quite early and had the chance to read hard and write another UTME when I failed the second time. But I had let friend’s decision to go to a polytechnic have an effect on my ability to choose. For the reason that some of my friends went to a Polytechnic, I decided to ply that route too even when I didn’t know what was there for me. Never let people’s decision influence yours, know what you want for yourself.

Know the kind of friends you keep

I’ve come to understand that you’ll attract the kind of person you are.  If you are a cool, calm, easy going person; you will attract the same and vice-versa. Whilst in school, I was able to associate myself with good people that could influence my life positively and we were able to build a good relationship after school. Good friends would always be there to motivate you and make you keep going when there is a downtime.

Never settle for less

 No matter how many years it may cost you to get that thing you so much desire never settle for less. It’s cool to keep your standard up there….hello! Screw whatever anyone has to say it’s your life, definitely not theirs.  I would simply say no to mediocrity! Never settle for a lesser grade, aim for the highest with full determination and you’ll surely get it. While I was in school, I felt graduating with a distinction was a height I can never reach.  So I limited myself and settled for a lower class division, yet this doesn’t define me. However, I knew if I had spent more semesters in school, the story would have been different. But, it was too late!

You’ll be held responsible for your actions

Whatever action you take while in school, you will be held accountable for it. There are some rules and regulations guiding the students of each school, so if you’ve decided to go against the rules; there is sure punishment for that. Usually, during exams, you are not supposed to cheat under any circumstances. However, some students decided to cheat and were caught in the process which earned them some extra semester(s). You might decide to go clubbing, read hard for exams and tests, visiting friends all week long. They all have their consequences.

You are free to make your choices but you are not free to choose the consequences

You are special

Having to leave the confines of your home to live with other people in a totally different environment, you would meet people with different backgrounds, culture, and home training. One would meet a whole lot of people with diverse talents and qualities and you’d be like, “what am I?” So many people with strong academic knowledge and it would seem like one is so dumb! Gosh, I don’t like that feeling. Nevertheless, I’ve learned everyone is special their own way; we all have various God-given talents and qualities.

”Don’t ever doubt yourself or waste a second of your life. It’s too short, and you’re special too”

– Ariana Grenade

 

Remain real to yourself

Truly, it doesn’t matter what anybody thinks about you; if you’re slim, fat, ugly, big head, short, lanky etc. It’s all about you! I can remember vividly when a course mate of mine was always body shaming me, as though that wasn’t enough. He continued to say that I was dark-skinned and could stain anyone that sits with me. Really, that was enough to ruin my self-confidence [maybe it did at some point]. Yet, I didn’t let that define the kind of person I am; I remained true to myself that I wasn’t going to bleach my skin for any reason. And that was it!

Regardless of this, I don’t have any regret whatsoever going to a polytechnic. Everything happened for a reason and the basis is not far-fetched because I wouldn’t have met some awesome people I met in school and after school.

So that’s it, guys! I hope is not too late to drop this one from last month!

Did you learn anything from school too? I would like to hear from you.

Much Love,

‘Lara.

 

One thought on “Happy belated birthday to me || 6 life lessons I learned in school

Leave a comment

