Reminder || Never too late to pull off great things this year!

Pheww….it’s the second half of the year and we are about seven days into June already. To be honest, this year is just too fast! Like when did we all cheer, did the fireworks, prepare those special meal; the ever delicious Jollof rice and chicken with other delicacies to celebrate the New Year? It all seems like yesterday. Having a mission statement for the New Year was also part of the things we took cognizance of for the year.

Okay, I should tell you before you continue that this is quite a long read. So here we go…

I’m sure you also had plans mapped out for the New Year; New Year resolutions if you’re someone that keeps one and all of that, right? Of course, I do have my plans too. I had the objectives to get closer to God, get back to school and make good grades, improve more on giving, build and grow this blog, take professional courses online, learn how to drive,  attend enough singles conferences or any other life changing program. In retrospect, I’ve improved quite a bit; attended few events/conferences and still have plans to attend more, also working on my personal relationship with God and also got a little better with giving.

Nevertheless, there are still a lot more to attain and it’s never too late to achieve all what you and I have planned for this year. It’s not too late to launch that book you’ve be writing. It’s not too late to set up that big business for which you’ve been writing a business plan. It’s not too late to propose to that special person that gives you butterflies in your tummy [winks, I’m a sucker for love stories]. It’s not too late to still learn how to drive if you’ve someone like me. It’s not too late to start building that house you want with the bricks and sand you have. It’s not too late to learn that trade. It’s not too late to go back to school, get another degree.

However you need to bear in mind these few things:

Why am I scared of my goals?

As cliché as this may sound trust me, I am anxious. For the reason that, though I had done quite well but I’m still not close to achieving what I planned to pull off in the first half. Surely, no one is going to chastise me at the end of the year if I don’t accomplish them but won’t I see myself as someone who didn’t try to get a mileage off her goals?  So this is want I will do which is the most important thing.

  • Take off the fears and do the things that need to be done, get it a straight face which leads me to the second point.

Revisit the goals

It’s not too late to revisit those goals and scrap the ones that don’t seem real to be achieved. I for one, I wanted to learn how to drive but for some reasons that there is no one that could take me through the lessons and neither is there a car I could practice with. So I know I have to scrap this particular goal for the year except something else happens that would make me change it.

  • Keeping a journal could come in handy here; this will help one in keeping tabs on those plans for the year. Notepad on phones could also be useful, so it’s easy to visit over and over again. I keep journals though and it has been useful.

Set achievable timelines

Really, I don’t think the problem we have individually is planning. The real problem is how to execute the plans we have. Howbeit, all this can be made easy if there is a set timeline for everything that has been planned for. For instance, I didn’t accrue any timeline to the plans I had to take professional courses online and how many courses do I want to take. If I had given that goal a realistic timeline to achieve it; looked through the pros and cons of setting that particular goal. Then it would have made it a lot easier to work towards it.

  • Aim towards the timeline you’ve set for that particular objective.

Measure yourself

At the end of each day or say weekly, it is very important that you evaluate yourself to know if you’ve actually achieved what you’ve planned or mapped out for the quarter or year. Maybe there was plan to complete and publish the book that has long been in the draft or organize a corporate event or learn how to prepare a particular delicacy.

Then the question should be what have I done today to bring me closer to that goal? What can I do differently to make me achieve my goal for the rest of the year?

I learnt this life lesson from a good friend at work who has keen interest in copy-writing for corporate organizations. At the end of each day at work, Seun said she asks herself what she has done for the day to bring her closer to objective of being a very good copywriter. That sounds good right? Bet it does.

  • Have an accountability partner, it makes one more answerable and hasten every process to reach a reasonable point of the goal.

So that’s it guys….I hope you found it useful. Now over to you, how have you been working on your goals for the rest of the year? Are you close to achieving them? I would love to hear from you in the comment section.

P S: Don’t forget to follow on our social media handle – lara_oseni on Instagram, oseni_lara on Twitter. I will surely follow back.

Much love,

Lara.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Reminder || Never too late to pull off great things this year!

Leave a comment

